Hempstead
in Essex

Site Last Updated
28th November 2016
PC October Minutes
PC November Agenda
Gardening Year
Queen's 90th Birthday

 

Click for Local
Weather Forecast

 

Click for Local
Traffic Report

 

Hempstead Village Church - Helen Philip Hempstead is a small historic village situated seven miles east of Saffron Walden in the north-west corner of Essex. The notorious highwayman Dick Turpin was born in the village public house. William Harvey, the man who discovered the circulation of blood in the human body, and Sir Eliab Harvey, commander of the Temeraire at the battle of Trafalgar, are interred with many members of their family in the Church crypt. For more information click here.

Village Latest

Thursday 1st December, Recyclables Collection Day (Green Bin)
Thursday 1st December, Art Group, 8.00pm at Drapers
Saturday 3rd November, Classic Cars and Bikes, 12.00 at The Bluebell Inn
Sunday 4th December, Holy Communion, 8.00am at Thaxted
Sunday 4th December, 4 Churches Communion Service, 10.00am at Radwinter
Monday 5th December, Open House - 2.00pm at The Bluebell Inn
Monday 5th December, Yoga, 7.30pm in the Village Hall
Tuesday 6th December, Keep Fit, 7.00-8.00pm in the Village Hall
Wednesday 7th December, Seedlings Service, 1.30pm at the Baptist church, Great Sampford
Thursday 8th December, Non-Recyclables Collection Day (Black Bin)
Thursday 8th December, Art Group, 8.00pm at Drapers
Friday 9th December, Mobile Library, 9.30-10.00am Village Centre
Friday 9th December, Cheese & Wine Evening, 7.30pm in the Village Hall
Saturday 10th December, Christmas Card Exchange, 10.00-12.30pm in St. Andrew's
Sunday 11th December, Holy Communion, 8.00am at St. Andrew's
Sunday 11th December, 4 Churches Praise Service with Churchtastic, 10.00am at Great Sampford
Sunday 11th December, MacMillan Christmas Concert, 6.30pm at Anso Gallows Farm
Thursday 15th December, Recyclables Collection Day (Green Bin)
Thursday 15th December, Art Group, 8.00pm at Drapers
Thursday 15th December, Parish Council Meeting, 8.00pm in the Village Hall
Sunday 18th December, Holy Communion, 8.00am at Radwinter
Sunday 18th December, 4 Churches Communion Service, 10.00am at Little Sampford
Sunday 18th December, Nine Lessons & Carols, 6.00pm at Great Sampford
Wednesday 21st December, Bell Ringing Practice, 7.45pm at St. Andrew's
Thursday 22nd December, Non-Recyclables Collection Day (Black Bin)
Saturday 24th December, Crib Service, 4.00pm at Radwinter
Saturday 24th December, Carol Service, 5.30pm at St. Andrew's
Saturday 24th December, Midnight Holy Communion, 11.30pm at Little Sampford
Sunday 25th December, Holy Communion, 8.00am at Radwinter
Sunday 25th December, 4 Churches Communion Service, 10.00am at St. Andrew's
Thursday 29th December, Recyclables Collection Day (Green Bin)

The Bluebell Inn is now open
 
The Bluebell Inn Opening Hours
Sunday12.00 noon - 10.00pm
Monday - Friday11.30am - 3.00pm + 5.30pm - 11.00pm
Saturday11.30am - Midnight



This site is sponsored by Hempstead Parish Council for the benefit of Hempstead villagers, their friends and neighbours. If you have any events, information or pictures you would like to submit for your website please contact the editor.

(Top of page)

eXTReMe Tracker