Hempstead in Essex
Resting place of William Harvey and Sir Eliab Harvey and birthplace of Dick Turpin

Welcome to Hempstead!

The small village of Hempstead lies 6 miles east of Saffron Walden in the rolling hills of North-west Essex and part of Uttlesford District. Whilst it only has about 175 properties and a population of around 450, it sports some fascinating history beyond its size. Much has happened since it was called Hamsteda at the time of the Doomsday Book when there were 10 times more pigs than people.

The Highwayman Dick Turpin, born in the village pub, the Bell Inn as it was in 1705 and worked in his father’s butcher’s shop before becoming notorious and eventually hanged in York in 1734.

In St. Andrew’s church at the top of the hill lies the tomb of William Harvey 1578-1657, who discovered the circulation of blood in the human body which changed the medical world completely

Latest News

What’s happening in Hempstead.

Diana’s bric-a-brac fundraising event

Diana’s bric-a-brac fundraising event

Our next bric-a-brac fundraising event for the repairs and maintenance of Hempstead Village Hall will take place on Friday 29th and Saturday 30th September at Thaxted Guildhall. Our home accessories and seasonal selection will include small furniture, bedspreads and cushions, lamps, art, china, glass, ornaments and gift. We have vintage and modern ...
No results found.

Upcoming Local Events

Upcoming events in and around Hempstead.

Hatha Yoga
Mon 29 Apr
Hatha Yoga -
Ladies Keep Fit
Tue 30 Apr
Ladies Keep Fit -
1st Radwinter Cubs
Wed 01 May
1st Radwinter Cubs -
Green Bin Day
Thu 02 May
Green Bin Day
Puppy Training
Thu 02 May
Puppy Training -
Hatha Yoga
Mon 06 May
Hatha Yoga -
Ladies Keep Fit
Tue 07 May
Ladies Keep Fit -
1st Radwinter Cubs
Wed 08 May
1st Radwinter Cubs -
Black Bin Day
Thu 09 May
Black Bin Day
Puppy Training
Thu 09 May
Puppy Training -
Hatha Yoga
Mon 13 May
Hatha Yoga -
Ladies Keep Fit
Tue 14 May
Ladies Keep Fit -

Latest Parish Documents

Latest documents from Hempstead Parish Council 

Parish Council Minutes 24th November 2022

Parish Council Minutes 27th September 2022