Hempstead in Essex
Resting place of William Harvey and Sir Eliab Harvey and birthplace of Dick Turpin

Welcome to Hempstead!

The small village of Hempstead lies 6 miles east of Saffron Walden in the rolling hills of North-west Essex and part of Uttlesford District. Whilst it only has about 175 properties and a population of around 450, it sports some fascinating history beyond its size. Much has happened since it was called Hamsteda at the time of the Doomsday Book when there were 10 times more pigs than people.

The Highwayman Dick Turpin, born in the village pub, the Bell Inn as it was in 1705 and worked in his father’s butcher’s shop before becoming notorious and eventually hanged in York in 1734.

In St. Andrew’s church at the top of the hill lies the tomb of William Harvey 1578-1657, who discovered the circulation of blood in the human body which changed the medical world completely

Latest News

What’s happening in Hempstead.

No results found.
No results found.

Upcoming Local Events

Upcoming events in and around Hempstead.

Puppy Training
Thu 14 Nov
Puppy Training -
Hatha Yoga
Mon 18 Nov
Hatha Yoga -
Ladies Keep Fit
Tue 19 Nov
Ladies Keep Fit -
1st Radwinter Cubs
Wed 20 Nov
1st Radwinter Cubs -
Black Bin Day
Thu 21 Nov
Black Bin Day
Puppy Training
Thu 21 Nov
Puppy Training -
Hatha Yoga
Mon 25 Nov
Hatha Yoga -
Ladies Keep Fit
Tue 26 Nov
Ladies Keep Fit -
1st Radwinter Cubs
Wed 27 Nov
1st Radwinter Cubs -
Green Bin Day
Thu 28 Nov
Green Bin Day
Puppy Training
Thu 28 Nov
Puppy Training -
Hatha Yoga
Mon 02 Dec
Hatha Yoga -

Latest Parish Documents

Latest documents from Hempstead Parish Council 

Parish Council Minutes 5th September 2019