Hempstead in Essex
Resting place of William Harvey and Sir Eliab Harvey and birthplace of Dick Turpin

Welcome to Hempstead!

The village of Hempstead lies 6 miles east of Saffron Walden in the rolling hills of North-west Essex and part of Uttlesford District. Whilst it only has about 190 properties and a population of around 450, it sports some fascinating history beyond its size. Much has happened since it was called Hamsteda at the time of the Doomsday Book when there were 10 times more pigs than people.

The Highwayman Dick Turpin, believed to born in the village pub, the Bell Inn as it was in 1705 and worked in his father’s butcher’s shop before becoming notorious and eventually hanged in York in 1734.

In St. Andrew’s church lies the tomb of William Harvey 1578-1657, who discovered the circulation of blood in the human body which changed the medical world completely

Latest News

What’s happening in Hempstead.

No results found.
No results found.

Upcoming Local Events

Upcoming events in and around Hempstead.

Ladies Keep Fit
Tue 16 May
Ladies Keep Fit -
1st Radwinter Cubs
Wed 17 May
1st Radwinter Cubs -
Puppy Training
Thu 18 May
Puppy Training -
Puppy Training
Thu 25 May
Puppy Training -
Puppy Training
Thu 01 Jun
Puppy Training -
Puppy Training
Thu 08 Jun
Puppy Training -
Puppy Training
Thu 15 Jun
Puppy Training -
Puppy Training
Thu 22 Jun
Puppy Training -
Puppy Training
Thu 29 Jun
Puppy Training -
Puppy Training
Thu 06 Jul
Puppy Training -
Puppy Training
Thu 13 Jul
Puppy Training -
Puppy Training
Thu 20 Jul
Puppy Training -