Hempstead in Essex
Resting place of William Harvey and Sir Eliab Harvey and birthplace of Dick Turpin

Welcome to Hempstead!

The small village of Hempstead lies 6 miles east of Saffron Walden in the rolling hills of North-west Essex and part of Uttlesford District. Whilst it only has about 175 properties and a population of around 450, it sports some fascinating history beyond its size. Much has happened since it was called Hamsteda at the time of the Doomsday Book when there were 10 times more pigs than people.

The Highwayman Dick Turpin, born in the village pub, the Bell Inn as it was in 1705 and worked in his father’s butcher’s shop before becoming notorious and eventually hanged in York in 1734.

In St. Andrew’s church at the top of the hill lies the tomb of William Harvey 1578-1657, who discovered the circulation of blood in the human body which changed the medical world completely

Latest News

What’s happening in Hempstead.

No results found.

Upcoming Local Events

Upcoming events in and around Hempstead.

1st Radwinter Cubs
Wed 07 Aug
1st Radwinter Cubs -
Green Bin Day
Thu 08 Aug
Green Bin Day
Puppy Training
Thu 08 Aug
Puppy Training -
Hatha Yoga
Mon 12 Aug
Hatha Yoga -
Ladies Keep Fit
Tue 13 Aug
Ladies Keep Fit -
1st Radwinter Cubs
Wed 14 Aug
1st Radwinter Cubs -
Black Bin Day
Thu 15 Aug
Black Bin Day
Puppy Training
Thu 15 Aug
Puppy Training -
Hatha Yoga
Mon 19 Aug
Hatha Yoga -
Ladies Keep Fit
Tue 20 Aug
Ladies Keep Fit -
1st Radwinter Cubs
Wed 21 Aug
1st Radwinter Cubs -
Green Bin Day
Thu 22 Aug
Green Bin Day

Latest Parish Documents

Latest documents from Hempstead Parish Council 

Parish Council Minutes 16th September 2021

Parish Council Minutes 19th August 2021