Hempstead in Essex
Resting place of William Harvey and Sir Eliab Harvey and birthplace of Dick Turpin

Welcome to Hempstead!

The village of Hempstead lies 6 miles east of Saffron Walden in the rolling hills of North-west Essex and part of Uttlesford District. Whilst it only has about 190 properties and a population of around 450, it sports some fascinating history beyond its size. Much has happened since it was called Hamsteda at the time of the Doomsday Book when there were 10 times more pigs than people.

The Highwayman Dick Turpin, believed to born in the village pub, the Bell Inn as it was in 1705 and worked in his father’s butcher’s shop before becoming notorious and eventually hanged in York in 1734.

In St. Andrew’s church lies the tomb of William Harvey 1578-1657, who discovered the circulation of blood in the human body which changed the medical world completely

Latest News

What’s happening in Hempstead.

Upcoming Local Events

Upcoming events in and around Hempstead.

Ladies Keep Fit
Tue 10 Sep
Ladies Keep Fit -
1st Radwinter Cubs
Wed 11 Sep
1st Radwinter Cubs -
Black Bin Day
Thu 12 Sep
Black Bin Day
Puppy Training
Thu 12 Sep
Puppy Training -
Hatha Yoga
Mon 16 Sep
Hatha Yoga -
Ladies Keep Fit
Tue 17 Sep
Ladies Keep Fit -
1st Radwinter Cubs
Wed 18 Sep
1st Radwinter Cubs -
Green Bin Day
Thu 19 Sep
Green Bin Day
Puppy Training
Thu 19 Sep
Puppy Training -
Hatha Yoga
Mon 23 Sep
Hatha Yoga -
Ladies Keep Fit
Tue 24 Sep
Ladies Keep Fit -
1st Radwinter Cubs
Wed 25 Sep
1st Radwinter Cubs -