Hempstead in Essex
Resting place of William Harvey and Sir Eliab Harvey and birthplace of Dick Turpin

Welcome to Hempstead!

The small village of Hempstead lies 6 miles east of Saffron Walden in the rolling hills of North-west Essex and part of Uttlesford District. Whilst it only has about 175 properties and a population of around 450, it sports some fascinating history beyond its size. Much has happened since it was called Hamsteda at the time of the Doomsday Book when there were 10 times more pigs than people.

The Highwayman Dick Turpin, born in the village pub, the Bell Inn as it was in 1705 and worked in his father’s butcher’s shop before becoming notorious and eventually hanged in York in 1734.

In St. Andrew’s church at the top of the hill lies the tomb of William Harvey 1578-1657, who discovered the circulation of blood in the human body which changed the medical world completely

Latest News

What’s happening in Hempstead.

Wreath Making, 30th Nov and 6th Dec

Wreath Making, 30th Nov and 6th Dec

We are delighted that there will be two chances to join in a wreath making evening this year, Thursday 30th Nov at 7.30pm or Wed 6th December at 8.30pm, in the Village Hall. Your £25 ticket includes a wreath base, greenery and ribbon, plus mulled wine, mince pies and nibbles. Bring your own little decorating favourite extras as you wish along with ...

Upcoming Local Events

Upcoming events in and around Hempstead.

Black Bin Day
Thu 18 Jan
Black Bin Day
Puppy Training
Thu 18 Jan
Puppy Training -
Hatha Yoga
Mon 22 Jan
Hatha Yoga -
Ladies Keep Fit
Tue 23 Jan
Ladies Keep Fit -
1st Radwinter Cubs
Wed 24 Jan
1st Radwinter Cubs -
Green Bin Day
Thu 25 Jan
Green Bin Day
Puppy Training
Thu 25 Jan
Puppy Training -
Hatha Yoga
Mon 29 Jan
Hatha Yoga -
Ladies Keep Fit
Tue 30 Jan
Ladies Keep Fit -
1st Radwinter Cubs
Wed 31 Jan
1st Radwinter Cubs -
Black Bin Day
Thu 01 Feb
Black Bin Day
Puppy Training
Thu 01 Feb
Puppy Training -

Latest Parish Documents

Latest documents from Hempstead Parish Council