Hempstead in Essex
Resting place of William Harvey and Sir Eliab Harvey and birthplace of Dick Turpin

Welcome to Hempstead!

The small village of Hempstead lies 6 miles east of Saffron Walden in the rolling hills of North-west Essex and part of Uttlesford District. Whilst it only has about 175 properties and a population of around 450, it sports some fascinating history beyond its size. Much has happened since it was called Hamsteda at the time of the Doomsday Book when there were 10 times more pigs than people.

The Highwayman Dick Turpin, born in the village pub, the Bell Inn as it was in 1705 and worked in his father’s butcher’s shop before becoming notorious and eventually hanged in York in 1734.

In St. Andrew’s church at the top of the hill lies the tomb of William Harvey 1578-1657, who discovered the circulation of blood in the human body which changed the medical world completely

Latest News

What’s happening in Hempstead.

Christmas Card Exchange, Sat 9th Dec

Christmas Card Exchange, Sat 9th Dec

The Christmas Card Exchange will take place in St. Andrew's church on Saturday 9th December from 10am to 12 noon. Bring along your village addressed Christmas cards and leave them on the alphabetically marked out pews for others to collect when they visit. Those not collected will be delivered to their addresses. If you prefer a greener option than ...
No results found.

Upcoming Local Events

Upcoming events in and around Hempstead.

Hatha Yoga
Mon 02 Sep
Hatha Yoga -
Ladies Keep Fit
Tue 03 Sep
Ladies Keep Fit -
1st Radwinter Cubs
Wed 04 Sep
1st Radwinter Cubs -
Green Bin Day
Thu 05 Sep
Green Bin Day
Puppy Training
Thu 05 Sep
Puppy Training -
Hatha Yoga
Mon 09 Sep
Hatha Yoga -
Ladies Keep Fit
Tue 10 Sep
Ladies Keep Fit -
1st Radwinter Cubs
Wed 11 Sep
1st Radwinter Cubs -
Black Bin Day
Thu 12 Sep
Black Bin Day
Puppy Training
Thu 12 Sep
Puppy Training -
Hatha Yoga
Mon 16 Sep
Hatha Yoga -
Ladies Keep Fit
Tue 17 Sep
Ladies Keep Fit -